Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

Yes, I said “aminals.” For some reason, when little kids mispronounce “animals” this way, I find it endearing.

While Hubby and I prefer the Conservatory at Como Park, we had lots of time to kill while there this past Wednesday, so we did eventually get around to the zoo portion of the park. The zoo area was more popular than the Conservatory that day (and probably every day). It was swarming with children and the adults who were supervising them.

Part of what we find frustrating about the zoo is the behavior of some people toward the animals. At the tiger exhibit, we saw a grandmotherly type encouraging her young brood to yell, “Wake up, tiger!” as loud as they could. I’d love to send a tiger into her bedroom some morning to roar the equivelant of “Wake up, Granny!” just to see how she would react.

At the lion exhibit, we witnessed a man squirt his beverage bottle so that the liquid would fall on the lion below. As he and his wife turned away from the exhibit, I saw the wife swat him upside the head. An appropriate reaction, I think. He’s lucky it wasn’t the lion swatting him upside the head.

We wandered half-heartedly around the zoo, with me snapping a few pictures here and there.

The sloth being slothful in the tropical rain forest area.

The sloth being slothful in the tropical rain forest area.

Papa lion

Papa lion

Mama lion - the target of the water bottle squirter

Mama lion - the target of the water bottle squirter (thankfully, the guy missed)

Little giraffe, big giraffe, and the back side of a zebra

Little giraffe, big giraffe, and the back side of a zebra

Cute, cuddly tortoise

Cute, cuddly tortoise

The tortoise exhibit has long been a favorite of mine. When I was a kid, the tortoises at Como Zoo were allowed to roam free, no fence separating them from the visitors. I remember walking right up to one and being able to touch it. While I can’t stand seeing animals caged, after watching the idiotic behavior of some people toward the animals, I feel better knowing that the tortoises are allowed their protected space.

