Tags

, , , , , ,

Hubby and I were out of town all day yesterday. We left bright and way too early – 8 a.m. I had a chiropractic appointment at 9:15, then we headed to the Twin Cities area. We ate lunch, then Hubby had a meeting at 1:00. After that, we had time to bum around, to kill time before my 7:00 meeting. So we went to Como Park, which has both a conservatory and a zoo.

While the zoo portion is all that and a bag of chips for some people, we prefer the conservatory, particularly the older part of the building. It’s basically a museum filled with living plants (whereas the zoo is a museum filled with living animals). We love the peace of the conservatory and noticed that it even remains fairly quiet even when there are several groups wandering through. The foliage must deaden the sound.

Because I knew ahead of time that we were going to go to Como Park, I brought the camera along. I can’t believe all the pictures I took – close to 100 – so many that I can group them by subject. I’ll present a number of the pics over the next few blog posts, but shall start with shots of leaves here.

Don't know what these are, but love the pattern. They almost look like the backs of insects.

Don't know what these are, but love the pattern. They almost look like the backs of insects.

Love the color and shape of these.

Love the color and shape of these.

Hubby said this reminds him of a tractor seat. By golly! He's right.

Hubby said this reminds him of a tractor seat. By golly! He's right.

This gives the illusion of motion, although it wasn't moving when I took the pic. Love how this fills the frame.

This gives the illusion of motion, like a fan blade. Love how this fills the frame.

The cocooning mass of leaves.

The cocooning mass of leaves.

