Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Hubby brought home a pile of rocks pulled from the community garden he’s working on. The kids and I helped him pick these rocks out of the soil and a Sentenced-to-Serve crew helped load them into a trailer so he could haul them home. Eldest Son and Young Son pitched in to assist us in moving them out of the trailer to the front yard so that we could use them in and around the flower beds.

As I was transferring rocks from the pile the boys had made to one of the flower beds, I grabbed a rock, took one look at it and said, “Hey, this is a fire starter.” I was talking to myself. When Hubby came around to where I was, I showed him.

Working in a museum as I do, I’ve seen a couple of fire starters before. These are rocks that have smooth hollows worn into them where a stick has been twirled in order to get a fire going. They seemed to be fairly common among the local American Indian tribes.

Here’s a picture of our fire starter, all cleaned up thanks to Hubby:

Fire Starter

Fire Starter

Here’s a second pic, this one showing another hollow having been started in another side:

Fire Starter

Fire Starter

Now, then, if there was some other use for rocks that involved making hollows in them, I’m up for hearing about it. Just because I’ve seen rocks that look like this and they’ve been identified as fire starters, that doesn’t mean that I’m correct in identifying this the same way.

