Tags

, , , , , , ,

Have I mentioned how much I love GoodReads? It does precisely what I need it to in terms of tracking the books I have read and those I want to read, plus it allows me to write little reviews to remind me what I thought of each book.

The latest book I’ve finished is “People of the Book” by Geraldine Brooks. After seeing the title, I knew I had to read it because it was a title I had considered for a book long ago (an early novel attempt that won’t ever see the light of day) and I wanted to see the story behind the title.

Here’s my review from GoodReads.

People of the Book People of the Book by Geraldine Brooks


My review

rating: 3 of 5 stars
The story follows the history of an ancient haggadah and Brooks does an excellent job of conveying the history of this book and detailing the technical aspects of book conservation. The writing was straight forward; it got the job done as far as telling the story, but it wasn’t the sort of writing that made me want to pause to re-read it for that certain je ne sais quoi.

The book made me realize how little I know about Middle Eastern and European history. Brooks used a number of words I wasn’t familiar with from a variety of languages and I wasn’t always able to deduce their exact meaning from the context. This made me wish for a glossary at the back of the book.

View all my reviews.

