Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

We (Hubby, Eldest Son, Daughter, Young Son #2 and I) went to visit my friend Jody the night before last. We hadn’t gotten together in ages. (Darn long Minnesota winters!) She invited us over for homemade pizza and gnocchi with asparagus alfredo sauce. Num! (More asparagus pee, too.)

While we were visiting, Jody thought it would be fun if we all tried her Wii Fit. The kids all had a go at it first. When starting, it helps to create a Mii, basically an avatar for yourself. Eldest Son and I have a similar appearance, which was really apparent in our avatars. I kept thinking Eldest Son’s avatar was mine.

Once you create a Mii, the Wii Fit asks you your height and birthdate and has you stand on the Wii Fit platform in order to determine your weight and Body Mass Index. Then it calculates your approximate physical age. Daughter’s physical age was calculated to be the same as her actual age. Young Son and Eldest Son had physical ages that were considerably older than their real ages. And my physical age … drumroll, please … came in at 33, eight years younger than my actual age, which surprises me because I’ve become quite the slug. The Wii Fit did suggest I build my muscle mass, especially after sensing that my Body Mass Index showed me as being underweight. That was good advice and has certainly been obvious to me for some time.

After a body analysis, the Wii Fit helps you to set a personal goal for improving your physical being, then it’s on to the activities. I tried ski jumping. The kids tried hitting soccer balls with their heads, ski jumping (Daughter creamed the slopes, getting the high score), strength training, and yoga. Daughter now thinks we NEED to get a Wii Fit.

I’m taking her *suggestion* under advisement.

