Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Queen is one of those all-around stellar rock groups whose music stands up nicely to the test of time. Such stylistic range, such tight compositions, such showmanship and harmonic voices. Really, there isn’t a bad word I can say about this band. I do, however, regret that Freddy Mercury’s life was cut short. Dang! That’s a loss that left a Grand Canyon-sized hole in the music scene and society.

I was listening to Queen yesterday and their song Radio Ga Ga cycled through on my iPod. As the lyrics reached my consciousness, particularly this section …

Let’s hope you never leave old friend
Like all good things on you we depend
So stick around ‘cos we might miss you
When we grow tired of all this visual
You had your time – you had the power
You’ve yet to have your finest hour
Radio – radio

… I couldn’t help but wonder what Freddy would think of the internet and YouTube and MySpace and the release of music for free. Would he continue to pine for the days of radio, or would he embrace the new?

I like to think he’d have gotten a kick out of all of the hoopla, that he’d have enjoyed the zany menagerie of apps and the ability of fans and musicians to have direct contact with each other. Maybe he would have taken up tweeting. Of course, if Freddy were tweeting, he’d be giving Stephen Fry a run for his money in the followers department.

