Tags

, , , , , , ,

One feature of the flu hanging out in our household is a nasty cough. Yesterday and the day before, it was especially bad for me because it was strong and continual. After several days of continual coughing, let me tell you, you come to discover muscles you didn’t know you had. While coughing may seem to be a symetrical exercise, taking place within the chest and throat, the muscles that have been affected by this round of coughing are not the same from one side of my body to the other. On the left side of my body, the muscles from my sternum and under my upper ribcage are sore. Not so on the right side. There, the muscles in my lower right abdomen (almost at my side) are sore. It’s odd and I don’t get it, but I guess I don’t have to get it for it to be so.

I did a little research on the flu in order to see what type we might have. Someone had mentioned norovirus, but my research shows that we don’t have norovirus because that causes gastroenteritis (nausea, vomiting, diarrhea), which we didn’t experience.

The CDC has a great page on the flu, showing weekly updates on incidents of the flu and where it’s hitting the hardest. Here’s the most current weekly report. According to the CDC, this year’s flu shot mostly matches up to the flu viruses that are going around, so, unless you get a strain of Influenza B (B/Victoria strain) that isn’t covered by the shot, you should be good.

Stay well.

