Tags

, , , , , ,

After seeing several commercials for the movie Slumdog Millionaire and noting, through the dancing scenes, that it was a story about an Indian young man winning a quiz show, I had a sneaking suspicion that this was a story I had heard before. When I learned that the screen play had been adapted, I was pretty sure I knew which book it has been adapted from – “Q&A” by Vikas Swarup. I read this book within the last couple of years and very much liked it. Still, I wasn’t 100% sure that this was the book used as the basis for the movie because authors are never mentioned in movie promos, so I did a Google search. The first result in line gave me my answer. Slumdog was adapted from “Q&A.” I don’t remember dancing scenes in the book, though, so it’s obvious that artistic license was used in the movie. “Slumdog Millionaire” is also a more memorable name than “Q&A.”

It’s so pleasant to have this flash of recognition.

And, lookee here: I wrote about this book in April 2007 on my Filter & Splice blog.

Incidentally, while I was sick, I had a long involved dream about the philosophy behind Slumdog, complete with flowcharts. None of which I remember now. Interesting what the mind will do with a few commercials while recovering from the flu.

