Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

I’m reading Malcolm Gladwell’s new book, “Outliers: The Story of Success,” which I got as a Christmas gift from Hubby and the nubbins. Gladwell is a master of making sociological connections that seem to bypass the lot of us.

Chapters three and four in the book deal with geniuses. Gladwell talks about convergence tests, which are typical for measuring IQ, and divergence tests, which tend to measure creativity. He presents the following divergence test in the third chapter (pg. 86):

“Write down as many different uses that you can think of for the following objects:

1. a brick

2. a blanket”

I was torn between doing the test right after reading this and continuing to read the chapter. I continued to read and, of course, Gladwell presented some examples of answers to this test. This morning, I decided to do the test myself and see what I could come up with, however, I’m not going to put my answers in this post so that you can have a chance to take the test without being influenced. I’ll post my answers later. The test is now yours.

