Tags

, , , , , , ,

Toward the latter part of this past week, I heard we were due for a blizzard in Minnesota on Sunday (today). Minnesotans get worked up about blizzards, experiencing a sort of frenetic energy that leads to stockpiling food and getting the shovels and snowblowers ready.

Young Son #2 and I went grocery shopping Friday night, my typical time for this activity, but also perfect timing for an impending blizzard.

Yesterday, Daughter headed to a friend’s house for a sleepover and Hubby, Young Son and I went to a friend’s house for cookie decorating and supper. We arrived around 4:30, not a snowflake in sight. By the time we left at 9:30 or so, it was snowing.

The great beauty of snow is that it is silent, so it can be snowing up a storm (ha!) and if you’re not outside or near a window, you won’t have a clue about what’s happening or how much is accumulating. (Those sneaky snowflakes!)

The snow continued through the night, with parts of Minnesota under a blizzard watch and other parts under a winter weather advisory. Central Minnesota, where I am, got the weather advisory, but based on what I’m seeing out the window, I’d say we’ve shifted into the blizzard category – or darned close to it. A blizzard, according to the National Snow and Ice Data Center, is a snow storm that lasts at least 3 hours (yep!) and combines below freezing temps (yep!) with wind that blows the snow (yep!) that reduces visibility to less than 1 km (not sure on this one).

I shoveled the front walk between 10:30 and 11:00 this morning. By 1:00 p.m., the area I had shoveled was filled in. I’m working up the energy go head out again. Gotta go visit the in-laws and dig them out too.

