Tags

, , ,

Trent Reznor of Nine Inch Nails (NIN) just posted a comment to the NIN website indicating that NIN’s music has been used to torture prisoners at Guantanamo Bay.  The post, which will disappear off the home page when a new one appears, is being discussed here.  Trent is understandably pissed (to put it mildly) and so are the other musicians whose music has been used for the same purpose. According to the article on MSNBC, these musicians are banding together to try to get the U.S. Military to stop using their music for torture.

Being a writer, this would be like taking a copy of the book I wrote at work and using it to blugeon a person in the head. Absolutely not what I intend to have happen with my book. If I were a musician, I would feel exactly as these musicians do. And then I’d be tempted to play my music really loudly for the person who decided that torture was a good idea.  Maybe a concert, where he and all his cronies get to hang out in the mosh pit.

Hey, my Hubby just had a brilliant idea. Has the government paid royalties to the musicians for playing their music? These are public performances, right? Couldn’t this be taken to court and argued from this angle? (Oh, that smart husband of mine!)

