Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Going a little crazy with the blogging today, but I foresee a busy week ahead that may not allow for much online time.  So, then . . . .

Hubby is taking a women’s biology class in college this semester.  It has involved some interesting activities, to say the least.  One thing students were required to do was track a menstrual cycle.  Kinda hard if you are a male, which my husband is, so he had to find a surrogate.  Enter, moi!

For the assignment, I had to take my temperature as soon as I woke up in order to find my basal temp.  I did this for over a month.  I had to keep track of when my period started and ended.  I had to gauge the viscosity of my vaginal mucous.  And, most interesting of all, I had to take seven tests for the assignment – seven ovulation tests.

I have long tracked certain aspects of my cycle, typically the day my period starts, the length of my cycles, and my moods.  As a writer, I am tempted to use a menstrual cycle as the undergirding for a story.  This exercise has given me further ideas along those lines, although I’m nowhere near penning anything yet.

My husband had to graph the variables of my cycle on a chart, which shows how my temperature fluctuated based on what was happening with my hormones.  I am much warmer than I thought I was – at least as far as my basal temp is concerned.  My ovulation tests showed that I was fertile for longer than the test box said was typical.  No wonder I got pregnant so easily.

Hubby showed my chart to his prof, who said that it was a textbook menstrual cycle.  (I always was a good student. 🙂 )  Little did the prof know that this cycle, which was 28 days, is nowhere near typical for me at this point in my life.  It used to be – when I was in my twenties and early thirties – but it shifted to being shorter (24-26 days) in my mid-thirties.

Hubby, who is the funniest guy I know, took to calling this assignment The Vagina Chronologues.  Cute, huh?

