Tags

, , , , , ,

People, bloggers mostly, from what I can tell, are continuing to chatter about Paul Boutin’s statement in Wired magazine about blogging being dead.  I’ve found several posts on the topic since posting about it myself on October 20, 2008.  As I run across these articles, I add them to the post, which has since moved off my front page.  (Yes, I know WordPress will allow me to stick a post to the front page, I just don’t want to.)   In an effort to bring my readers’ attention back to the article, I thought I’d post again and let you know that the general conclusion people are making is that blogging isn’t truly dead; it’s transforming and those who never really had a blogger’s soul are dropping their stand-alone blogs in favor of apps they like better.  Amazing, though, how often a Twitter tweet links to a blog post.

One point people continue to argue in order to prove that blogging is dead is that the top 100 blogs listed on Technorati are pretty much all run by big media and/or commercial ventures.  I have a suggestion.  Why not create separate listings of popular blogs, breaking them down by topic?  Then you could have the top 100 blogs by news media, the top 100 political blogs, the top 100 blogs by writers, the top 100 quirky blogs, top 100 blogs by hockey moms who are also governors, the top 100 by complete nobodies, etc., etc.  Yes, Technorati does sort by topic, but it feels so random to me and it’s harder to find that top 100 list than it used to be.  Aggregate, people!

So, if you’ve decided to eschew Paul Boutin’s advice to kill your blog, here’s some advice by way of Copyblogger on how to make sure your blog is readable.  And keep blogging, if that’s your thing.

[Addendum 11/29/2008: Seth Godin suggests creating new blog lists, too.]

