Tags

, , , ,

This morning I woke with what can only be described as a dead arm.  My right one, to be specific.  It hung from my shoulder with a heaviness that could only be lifted with the assistance of my other arm, which fortunately was still very much alive.  This, of course, is what happens when the circulation is cut to a limb.  A little blood lost and suddenly the limb is no longer your own.  Rub, rub, rub is the only way to get the blood flowing, to get the arm to belong again.

The strangeness of the dead arm sensation led to questions:

How long after the loss of circulation does it take the body to realize that the limb is in this serious condition?  Could you sleep all the way through the night like this?  If so, could it do irreparable damage to the limb?  Might it have to be amputated?  And, my favoritest question of all . . . Could this sort of thing happen to one’s head?

