Tags

, ,

I could not find a file I needed today at work.  It’s not that I misplaced it; instead, it’s one my co-worker has charge of and I couldn’t figure out where she had filed it.  For those who know me well, they know that when I can’t find something, I’m not fun to be around.  I get desperate as the search drags on without success.  Frankly, I was ready to throw a fit today, which is completely unprofessional, so I contained myself.  Barely.  After looking for the better part of an hour, I had to give up, which made me feel like a complete failure.

I moved on to some research I was conducting on a local music store owner.  My research was indicating that the man’s business had been located in three different locations, but I couldn’t confirm the third location with more than one source.  I looked and looked and looked for another source, but couldn’t find one before having to leave work for the day.  And, you know what?  It didn’t bother me in the least.  Even though I was essentially dealing with the same sort of situation – not being able to locate what I was looking for – when it comes to research, I’m totally cool with it.

I explained my observation to my other co-worker and she indicated that not figuring out research questions bugs her.  Not me, and the reason why is that research is unending.  When you get one question answered, inevitably it leads to several more questions.  Also, often answers are simply not available within the resources at hand.  They might turn up in an unexpected resource later, and then again, they might not.  The very nature of research keeps me from getting upset about it.

But if I can’t find an object, watch out!

