Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

I was listening to NPR’s All Things Considered on my way home from work today.  Unicorn Dream Attack, an electronica “band,” was featured.  Midway through the piece, I had to run into the bank, which was a bummer.  I didn’t want to miss the rest of the feature, but the bank was due to close in 10 minutes.  When I got back into the car, I was pleased to find that I hadn’t missed everything.  One more Unicorn Dream Attack song was being played.

Unicorn Dream Attack is led by Stefan Keen of Minnesota. (Isn’t Minnesota great?)  On the U.D.A. MySpace page, Keen says that the type of music he makes is called “8-bit” or “chiptunes.”  It’s techno music, but according to the NPR report, it is a fusion of techno and pop and much warmer than typical techno music.

As soon as I heard U.D.A., I thought of Eldest Son, who enjoys music that is primarily lyric-less.  He digs Rammstein and Apocalyptica, and I know I’ve caught him listening to music that I would consider techno.  I think he might like U.D.A. and will be sending him a link mometarily.

