Tags

, , , ,

I was just checking my Google Alert for Dave Matthews Band and had a shock.  LeRoi Moore, saxophonist for the band, has died.  I can’t believe it.  He was only 46.  In June he was in an ATV accident and from the updates I had seen online, he seemed to be recovering, albeit he had a few complications.  The article on MTV.com reporting LeRoi’s death yesterday said that it was unexpected.  Waves of disbelief keep hitting me.  I can’t imagine DMB without LeRoi.  Because he was the quiet member of the band as far as interviews were concerned, I always imagined him to be this deep and mysterious guy.  He sure could communicate through his various instruments, though.  He could make his saxophones and pennywhistles speak.  As the thought of his death sinks in, I’m feeling sad – sad for him, sad for his family, sad for the band, and sad for his fans.

Rest in peace, LeRoi.

My sincerest condolences to his family, the Dave Matthews Band, and all the fans.

