Tags

, , , , , , ,

The past couple of days, I’ve been feeling particularly writerly.  As a writer, I have a continual writing-related narrative running through my head, sort of like a low-grade fever, but there are some days when a strong writerly feeling overcomes me and character descriptions, clever phrases, and bits of stories come with unusual ease.  It’s a nice feeling, although I may appear to be living my physical life in a fog.  Strangely (and this will contradict what I’ve just said), my powers of observation for tiny things seem to be heightened during this state.

During my latest bout of feeling writerly, the following thoughts have occurred to me:

1.  A phrase:  Way back in the forever ago.

2.  An observation:  The nether land between town and country – where one is so close to the city, one should be getting services the city gets, but the city and private businesses consider the property to be country, so they can’t be bothered to provide these services.

3.  A character:  A lonely man who collects very small metal things – used staples retrieved from recycled office papers, crinkled twisty-ties, and unwanted paper clips.

4.  Another observation:  A study in screen doors.  This I thought of while on a motorcycle ride with Hubby last night.  Riding through a neighborhood, I was struck by the differences in the screen doors and what this might tell us historically.  There were plenty of all-glass doors that are current and not screen doors at all, except that they screen the front door from rain and bird shit, I guess.  Then there are the one-third solid, two-thirds screen screen doors.  The most intriguing to me were the one-third solid, two-thirds screen, with one-half of the screen being covered by fancy metal grillwork screen doors.  Don’t those just speak of a particular era?

5.  Yet another observation, this one from today:  An Operation I.D. sticker.  The question that went through my mind was – Does this program still exist?  It was huge when I was a kid, but I don’t hear anything about it nowadays.  I thought maybe the sticker I saw was forgotten from an earlier time, but when I looked online, I see that police departments are still using the Operation I.D. program.  If you want to take part, supposedly you check in with your local police or sheriff’s department, where you are assigned a unique number to engrave on all of your valuables.  Once everything is engraved, you get one of those Operation I.D. stickers to post in a prominent place so that potential burglars are aware that anything they steal from you is marked and easily traceable.   Here’s info from the City of Rochester’s Operation I.D. program.  If you’re interested in Operation I.D., you’ll have to ask your local law enforcement if they participate.  I can’t figure out where the program originated at the state or national level.  Seems those folks are all too busy with Homeland Security and other things to promote Operation I.D. anymore.

