Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Now that we are almost a week past Mother’s Day, I’ll let you in on a little secret.  I hate manufactured holidays.  You know, the holidays that marketers love because it gives them an excuse to sell you something?  Frankly, I’m not a very good consumer.  I’m a tightwad when it comes to spending money and I believe that our excessive and unnecessary consumption is what’s ruining our environment.  There!  I’ve said it.  And Marketers?  There’s not a thing you can do about it to convince me otherwise.   You could manufacture a holiday devoted entirely to the glory of being me and I’d tell everyone to save their money and have fun doing something free on my behalf.

In my estimation, Mother’s Day is a manufactured holiday.  I am a mother and I don’t need a special day wherein my children are supposed to bow down to me because somebody “out there” said so.  Any mother who demands this is probably a mother who breeds a lot of resentment in her children.

I’ve seen a couple other online stories that echo my sentiments concerning Mother’s Day.  One of them was posted by Seth Godin.   (Seth’s a marketing guru, no less, which just goes to prove that there’s an exception to every rule.  Not all marketers are for useless consumption.)

The other story – from MSNBC – talks about the founding of Mother’s Day by Anna Jarvis in 1908 as a way to honor her mother.  Even though Anna was the founder of Mother’s Day, she didn’t care for how it turned into a marketer’s dream, either.  From the article:

“. . . Jarvis became increasingly disturbed as the celebration turned into an excuse to sell greeting cards, candy, flowers and other items.

Jarvis became known for scathing letters in which she would berate people who purchased greeting cards, saying they were too lazy to write personal letters “to the woman who has done more for you than anyone in the world.”

Before she died in 1948, she protested at a Mother’s Day celebration in New York, and was arrested for disturbing the peace.”

I suppose if Anna Jarvis can be arrested for disturbing the peace over a manufactured holiday, I guess I can get tetchy about it on my blog.

