Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Nine Inch Nails is moving so fast with news I can hardly keep up.  I was assisting my Hubby with a particularly tough paper yesterday (when he’s under pressure, he can’t type as fast as his thoughts are flowing) and I missed an exciting piece of news from NIN.  At the end of the day, I checked my email and had a message from Rob at Bittersweet Being.  It was an announcement that NIN had just released ANOTHER album, this one completely free.  Trent said the following in his post:  “(thank you for your continued and loyal support over the years – this one’s on me)”.  Wow and holy mackerel.  I downloaded it immediately, of course, and haven’t had a chance to listen to it.

The new album is called The Slip (link to NIN Blog Archive).  NIN released the song Discipline from it a few days ago.  The album title makes me think of a person giving another the slip, as in slipping away from them, and Trent Reznor has done this.  He’s given the recording industry the slip now that he’s out from under a record company contract.  We all thought Prince was crazy when he used a symbol as his name and appeared in concert with the word “Slave” written on his forehead, but Trent must have felt this way, too.  Now that he’s free, he hardly seems able to contain his creativity and he almost appears to be . . . dare I say it?  Happy.  How much of his earlier depression was related to being a kept man?

Along with news of The Slip, NIN has been announcing concert dates.  The band is due to play at the Target Center in Minneapolis on August 2.  NIN is pre-releasing tickets through its website to fans a couple of days before they go on sale to the general public.  Fans have to register (a painless process) at NIN’s website for this feature.  In order to keep ticket scalpers from getting in on this deal, registered NIN fans have to provide their full names (first and last) as seen on their legal identification and can only order two tickets.  Pre-sale tickets will be available on-call at the venue and will have each ordering fan’s name on them, which means you have to pick them up with an ID handy.  You also have to immediately enter the venue, so you can’t sell the tickets on the street.  The tickets will be worthless if you try because of the names on them.

It sounds like a well-thought process, but it leads me to The Prisoner’s Dilemma, only without the prisoner.  I’d really like to attend the NIN concert, however . . . .   After my bad experience at a Dave Matthews Band concert (can’t leave that alone, can I?) and considering my sensitive hearing, I’m trying to decide whether it will be worth it to go or if I would be better off if I used some of the money I’d pay for tickets on purchasing past NIN albums that I don’t yet own.  It’s a tough one.  I think I’ll wait to see how much tickets will cost. Tomorrow at 5 CST tickets to the Target Center concert go on sale.  If they’re outrageously priced, my decision will be made for me.  If not, I’m going to have to think fast.  In any case, I have my foam earplugs at the ready.

