Tags

, , ,

I was tagged for a meme by Erin at A Posse . . . Ad Esse. This is the Hubby Meme, which gives me a chance to say all kinds of wonderful things about my Hubby, and throw in a little bit of our history, as well. Here goes.

Where did you meet? Hubby and I knew each other in elementary school on up through high school. We were in the same grade. Hubby was my brother’s best friend during high school, but the unwritten rule was that you couldn’t ever date your brother’s best friend. When I was in my second year of college, I broke the rule in a round-about way. I told my brother to have Hubby ask me out. (He didn’t know that I had done this until after we were married.)

How long did you date? We dated about 6 months, at which point Hubby asked me to marry him. Actually, he had unofficially asked me a month prior, saying something like, “If I asked you to marry me, would you?” When he officially proposed, he enlisted my brother in helping to pick out an engagement ring (a sapphire) and in painting a message on the roof of my dad’s house. Hubby hired a pilot to take us up in his small plane so I could read the message. It said, “Marry me, Mary.”

How old is he? I married a younger man, but not by much. We’re both 40; our birthdays are only a couple of months apart.

Who eats more? Hubby eats more, but he’s also a foot taller than I am and has a Nordic frame with wide shoulders. That said, on occasion, I can sometimes out-eat him.

Who said “I love you” first? I think that was Hubby.

Who is taller? Definitely Hubby – by a foot.

Who sings better? Also, definitely Hubby. He has a gorgeous voice. He’s incredibly musical, comes from a musical family, in fact. He can play the guitar by ear and it doesn’t take him long to figure out a song. Hubby once had a solo in an operetta. He didn’t bother to tell his parents ahead of time, so they had no idea until he actually got up to sing. Unfortunately, even though he’s musically gifted, he can’t stand performing in front of an audience, so I get the rare treat of being pretty much the only one to hear him (except for the kids and the cats, of course).

Who is smarter? If you ask me, Hubby. If you ask Hubby, he’ll say me. We’ve actually scored within a couple of points of each other on IQ tests, for what that’s worth. Hands down, Hubby is much, much better at coming up with logical arguments for debatable issues. He’s brilliant at it and very quick. It’s a skill I wish I had.

Whose temper is worse? Hubby and I have different ways of showing our tempers. Hubby is typically louder and quicker to swear, while I tend to nurse my temper and get quiet and snippy.

Who does the laundry? Mostly me. Hubby pitches in when needed. Even though I do more laundry, Hubby is waaaaaay better at folding clothes than I am. I tend to slap things together, while his folded stuff looks so good that it could have come from the dry cleaners.

Who sleeps on the right side of the bed? I do.

Who pays the bills? I do. And if you ask Hubby, he’ll say it’s a darn good thing I do because if it were left up to him, we’d be broke by now.

Who cooks dinner? I’d say we split this task 50/50. He’s better at it than I am. He’s been cooking since he was a little kid and has a certificate in the chefly arts. He can take the plainest food and transform it into fancy food.

Who drives when you are together? Mostly Hubby. When we were younger, he always drove when we were together because I was more timid at driving and he was a professional driver. Now we switch off, but it depends on where we are going and whether it’s dark and rainy out. If it’s dark and rainy, he definitely drives.

Who is more stubborn? I don’t think either one of us is stubborn, certainly not with each other. We’re pretty good at compromise.

Who kissed whom first? Hubby kissed me first. I was too shy to be that forward (although I certainly wasn’t too shy about arranging to be asked out, was I?)

Who is the first to admit to being wrong? We typically come to this conclusion at about the same time after we’ve been short with each other.

Whose parents do you see the most? His, without a doubt. We have many interests in common and his parents enjoy family visits more than mine do.

Who proposed? See the answer to the second question above.

What’s his best physical attribute? What can I say on a blog without embarrassing him? His eyes and his shoulders. Really, it’s hard to break him down into individual parts because I fell in love with the entire package.

Who has more friends? We tend to share friends, so that means we have an equal amount.

What are you most proud of him for? Being a great dad, quitting a job that he was scared to quit because he was afraid to put the family in jeopardy, and for returning to school (he’s pulling all A’s).

Who has more siblings? I do. Three brothers and a sister to his three sisters.

Who wears the pants in the family? We share the pants in the family. We hate the term “Head of Household” because we discuss all major issues and come to a decision together. There isn’t one head of household, but two. True story: When we first signed up for insurance, we went into the insurance company together. I was under the assumption that both of us would be listed on the insurance, but only my husband was. This ticked me off royally because for most bill paying accounts, the company will only discuss things with the listed account holder. I finally wrote a letter to the company and said that I wanted my name on the account because they wouldn’t be getting paid if I wasn’t writing out the bills every month. They put my name on the account.

There we go – the Hubby Meme. Now it’s time to tag. How about Joanne, Kim, Ali, and Joy? (Joy, if you haven’t done a meme before, leave me a comment and I’ll explain it.)

