Tags

, ,

This is a writing activity I invented.  I’ve added the words “A Reprise” to my title because I first posted this activity at Filter & Splice.  The beauty of this writing exercise is that you can repeat it into infinity by choosing 10 new words each time you sit down to do it.  The point being to work those 10 words into a piece of writing within 20 minutes.  You don’t have to work all 10 words into one sentence, although you can try if you like.  Simply work the words into a stream-of-consciousness piece of writing.  The time limit keeps you from stopping to think too much (i.e. turns off the inner editor).  I told LKwinter I’d repost the activity, so here goes – ten words:

evocative

decipher

brace

lemming

fruit

plaid

strip

wobble

lonely

grease

You can modify the words in traditional ways (i.e. wobble can become wobbling, brace can become bracing or braces, etc.).  I’m not an impossible taskmaster.

