Tags

, ,

You know what?  I vehemently hate Daylight Saving Time (DST).  I didn’t always feel this strongly about the subject.  In fact, as a kid, I didn’t think about it much at all.  However, the older I get, the more I dislike the arbitrary flipping back and forth of the clock and the societally induced jet lag.

While I realize that all the time-keeping we do is fairly arbitrary (who decided how long a month should be, or a week?), for the most part it helps us to remember when things happened and assists in the functioning of our institutions and social interactions.  If we didn’t have any sense of time, how would we know to keep our appointments?

That said, I still think Daylight Saving Time isn’t worth the bread it’s buttered on.  Whether we spring ahead or fall back, we still have the same amount of daylight.

Here’s a nice article in The Wall Street Journal that helps bolster my position by talking about how much energy DST wastes.   And here’s a website that is solely dedicated to doing away with DST.

This post reminds me of the librarian I know who refuses to set his clocks in accordance with DST.  Now that’s an idea I could get behind – eliminating DST by refusing to play along.

