Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

There’s a new anti-drug commercial appearing on TV lately.  It’s sponsored by The National Youth Anti-Drug Media Campaign.  It shows a young man at a table in the lunchroom of his school with a box of prescription pills.  He holds different pills up to the camera and explains how one was from his postpartum depression, another from his sciatica, others are from his hysterectomy, or some -ectomy, and another from his hip replacement.

While I understand the point of the commercial – to keep teens from raiding their parents’ prescription drug stash – every time I see the commercial, I want to laugh.  Maybe it’s the smirk on the kid’s face as he explains the pills.  Maybe it’s the female complaints that end up on his list of ailments.  The problem is that the commercial is so funny to me that I’d be tempted to check out my parents’ prescriptions just to see what was there, which, of course, is not quite the message the campaign is trying to send.  Am I the only one having this reaction to the commercial?

You can see the commercial by clicking on the Anti-Drug Media Campaign link above.  When the page opens, you’ll have the option to watch two videos.  Select the video called “All My Pills.”

