Tags

, , , , , ,

I’m hungry. So hungry I’m ready to eat my own arm. We’re waiting for a pan of Stouffer’s lasagna to finish cooking. It’s been in the oven for over two hours even though we thawed the thing first and it should have only taken half that long. Smells good, though.

While waiting for it to bake, Daughter and I ran to Wal-Mart. She wanted to buy candy for her friends for Valentine’s Day and some face wash. I bought candy for my co-workers, plus a shirt that was on sale. Oh, and some Good & Plenties. It was an impulse buy.

It had started snowing just before we left. It’s the kind of snow that sticks mercilessly to your windshield when you run the wipers, smearing into glaze ice right before your eyes – literally – and makes it difficult to see, except on the passenger side of the car. When we left Wal-Mart, the snow had grown to gnat-size and was flurrying around in a massive, sky-sized swarm. Daughter called it frozen gnat snow. The small size of the flakes belies the fact that it accumulates quickly. According to the gas station conversations I heard, we’re supposed to get between 10 and 12 inches. I wonder if gas station conversation about weather is more reliable than the stuff we hear from meteorologists on the news.

