Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

I had a conversation with Hubby the other day about compensating. The older I get, the more my body slides toward entropy, the more I have to compensate.

I’m near-sighted … have been since third grade. Over the past couple of years, I’ve noticed that I’m having more difficulty focusing on close things through my glasses. I have to hold things away in order to find the focus or peer under my glasses in order to see them properly. It’s often easier to take my glasses off to read, even though my nose is practically on the page. I’m sure bifocals will be my compensation mechanism in the future.

My hearing has become more fuzzy over time, which means I have to compensate by asking people to repeat things and by cocking my head so one of my ears is toward the sound.

My back and legs don’t take too kindly to new shoes anymore. I’ve never been one for high heels, but even shoes that are relatively flat are giving me problems, throwing my back out of alignment. I compensate by going barefoot at home as much as possible and doing stretching exercises.

Eczema has forced me to compensate in numerous ways: Moisturizing at least twice a day with Vitamin E oil, Eucerin and Vanicream, taking bleach baths once a week, religiously avoiding foods I’m allergic to (bananas, apples, watermelon, lemons & spinach), taking immunotherapy drops for allergies every day, eating an uber-healthy diet, and supplementing with Vitamin C, a multi-vitamin for skin, spirulina, coconut oil and fish oil. Oh, and I keep my fingernails really short and avoid scratchy clothing.

Age and its accompanying physical decline really point out the fragility of our bodies. Although, the myriad ways we compensate also show our endless adaptability.

