Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I bought three pairs of new shoes recently after having worked myself down to a couple of beaten up pairs. I was definitely overdue, but kept putting it off because I have trouble finding shoes that fit properly on my skinny feet. Most shoes are too wide in the heel and slide off. Or the arch support feels wrong. It was quite the feat to find three pairs that all felt comfortable within the same week. And they’re cute, too. Score!

I’ve been switching between the new shoes and my old ones, trying to get my feet used to all of them. Unfortunately, while the shoes are comfy on my feet, my legs and lower back have become achy from them.

In an effort to solve the aching, I did some online searching on shoes causing backaches and proper-fitting shoes. I discovered that I have been walking improperly for a long time. My right foot is over-pronated, meaning my foot and ankle cave in. I also have other posture problems, likely from lots of desk work, that probably also contribute to my back and leg aches.

I’m not really alone in the poor posture category. Most of us have some sort of issue with our posture that needs correcting.

I was discussing all this with Hubby this afternoon and he said, “Was it nature or nurture that caused you to walk with your ankle in? Did you observe it from your parents?”

It took me a moment to realize what he was referring to. Why would I have learned over-pronating from my parents? And then the realization smacked me in the face. Both of my parents suffered from paralytic polio as kids. Both recovered from the paralysis but were left with one leg shorter than the other, my mom severely so, my dad not so much. Both have a foot that drops when they walk.

This was such an interesting insight into the idea that children could learn a particular gait from their parents, and how growing up around parents with an altered gait might actually affect how a kid walks.

Might make a good idea for a story …. hmmm.

