Tags

, , , ,

Every once in a while I dip into Amanda Palmer’s blog. Yesterday I read her post on how she put together a ninja gig at South by Southwest (SXSW) in 24 hours. Let me tell you, her enthusiasm was positively infectious. By the end of the post I wanted to grab a ukulele and organize my own concert, even though I don’t know how to play the ukulele and can’t sing my way out of a paper bag.

Amanda has a joie de vivre that bleeds through her writing. Heck, a lot of writers can’t make that claim, even if they make the attempt. I suspect Amanda isn’t aware of how contagious her excitement is, mostly because how much do any of us know about the precise effect we have on others?

It’s contagious enough for me to want to write a blog post about it and to think about how much I appreciate this joie de vivre in others. There’s a nurse named Kate at the clinic Daughter and I visit that has this enthusiasm. She’s a joy to be around and makes you feel better by merely being in her presence. The world would be a better place if we had more Amandas and Kates.

Perhaps, if we’d do exactly the opposite of what this Onion article suggests, we’d all have more joie de vivre to share.

