Tags

, ,

Snow paths in the yard

Snow paths in the yard

If you read my whiny post yesterday about too much snow, today’s post is a look on the bright side. One thing I have enjoyed about the deep snow is cutting paths through the yard with Doggle Woggle. Strange, I know, but I find it relaxing and productive all at once. And it gives me something to do while Doggle is running around. And around, and around the house.

We’ve got one path that encircles the house. When Doggle gets really wound up, he runs this at high speed, jumping the sidewalk in front of the house.

Another path breaks off the circular path and heads through the back yard to the alley.

A third, tiny path runs from the back step along the side of the house, where the gas meter and furnace pipes are. We need to keep the furnace pipes clear so the furnace doesn’t shut down.

When the snow was lower, I cut these paths with my boots and a shovel. After the last big snow, Hubby borrowed a snow blower from his folks to clear out the mailbox for the mail carrier. He also re-cut my path to the back alley. Very nice.

Because the snow is so deep, Doggle now typically takes the path(s) of least resistance and runs along what we’ve cleared. Sometimes he moves so fast, he practically knocks me off the path. I’m sure there’s a lesson in that somewhere.

Doggle Woggle playing on a path

Doggle Woggle playing on a path

Doggle Woggle looking attentive in the snow. See that metal thing behind him? That's an outdoor couch buried in the snow.

Doggle Woggle looking attentive in the snow. See that metal thing behind him? That’s an outdoor couch buried in the snow.

 

