Tags

, , , , , ,

Hubby and I don’t have a lot of money and I grew up in a family that didn’t have a lot of money. Even though I’ve never really experienced wealth in the sense of having loads of money in the bank, there are a few simple things that make me feel wealthy.

1. Having at least a half a tank of gas in the car

2. Having a book of stamps in my wallet

3. Having green garbage bags in the pantry

4. Having a fridge full of food

Perhaps I should explain #3, which was the inspiration for this post.

Our city uses a system of colored garbage bags for picking up trash. There are green bags and blue bags, depending on what side of town one lives on. The bags are over a dollar a piece but supposedly cost less than having a traditional can that gets picked up each week.

We ran out of bags and hadn’t purchased new ones before garbage had to be set out a couple of weeks ago. That’s when I realized that having green garbage bags on hand makes me feel wealthy. There’s something about not being able to take out the trash that’s unsettling. It makes me feel slovenly. Green garbage bags prevent that feeling because, even if I don’t have enough trash to fill a bag and put it on the curb, I have the option of putting out the trash. That option is what makes me feel wealthy.

How about you? What small or simple things make you feel wealthy?

I’m not looking for those grand things in life that people express gratitude for, like wonderful relationships and spiritual enlightenment. Of course those things make us feel wealthy, as they should. I want to hear about things that give a feeling of wealth out of proportion to cost or importance of the items, i.e. green garbage bags.

